Esther Maynard Women in Sport Icon Award

In 2020 the Women In Sport Commission launched the Esther Maynard Women In Sport Icon Award in honor of the trailblazer Esther Maynard, BSS. As the first chair of the women in sport commission her contribution to the promotion and participation of women in Sport had left an indelible legacy.

The annual icon award will present an important opportunity to recognise the women, men and organisations that are working towards advancing gender equality in sport across the areas of participation, safe sport, portrayal, resource allocation, and leadership.

To watch register on zoom:
View on YouTube at

About Mrs. Esther Maynard, BSS
Esther Maynard, former Director of The Barbados Olympic Association’s Board (1982 – 2019). She also served on the board as Assistant Secretary and Treasurer. Former member of the following Commissions of the BOA – Technical Commission, Women in Sport Commission, Awards and Commission and is still the Chair Commission. Maynard is a Course Leader and Lecturer for the Olympic Solidarity Sport Organizations Courses at both basic and advanced levels. She is the current PRO of the Athletics Association of Barbados, having served as President of the Association from 1992-1996 and more recently from 2004 – 2012. She has served on its board for forty-four years.

Mrs. Maynard is an IAAF certified Lecturer for the Level 1 Technical Officials Certification System and has served as an IAAF Area International Technical Official in numerous competitions in the Pan American region and at the Commonwealth Games. She was the recipient of the Barbados Service Star for her contribution to Sport in Barbados. In 2013 she was awarded the IAAF Plaque of Merit for meritorious service to the cause of world athletics. Other awards have included two IOC Awards, the 1991 Award for the Outstanding Contribution by a Woman to Olympic Sport in Barbados and the 1999 Award for Education and Sport in Barbados. Esther was inducted to the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Hall of Fame in 2010.


Mar 28 2021


6:00 pm

Leave a Reply