BOA President Sandra Osborne receives ITF Award 2018

President of the Barbados Olympic Association Inc. (BOA), Sandra Osborne, QC, was one of 12 persons recognized for service to the game of Tennis at the 2018 International Tennis Federation Annual General Meeting (AGM) held recently in Orlando, Florida.

The awards are given annually at the AGM to outstanding tennis administrators, coaches, officials and players. Administrators achieving this award must have played a key role in this area for more than eight years. The current President of the Barbados Tennis Association, Dr. Raymond Forde received this award in 2010.

Osborne became the first female president of the BOA last year. A well-known tennis administration, she served as Vice President of the Barbados Tennis Association from 2001 until her resignation in October 2017 to take over the leadership of the BOA. She was responsible for junior tennis for many years and is an experienced tournament director of the International Tennis Federation junior world ranking events. From 2012 until her resignation in 2017 she served as one of the official organizers of Davis Cup ties hosted by Barbados.

She is a member of the International Tennis Federation’s Women in Sport Committee for the period 2018 to 2019 and serves as Legal Adviser to the Commonwealth Games Federation and to the Committee of Appeals of the Central American and Caribbean Tennis Confederation.

Featured Image: President of the International Tennis Federation, David Haggerty presenting Sandra Osborne, QC with an award for service to Tennis.

About The International Tennis Federation

The International Tennis Federation is the governing body of Tennis in the world and is located in London England. There are 210 member countries.

The ITF Women in Sport Committee’s mandate is to advise and make recommendations to the ITF Board on the development and implementation of the ITF Women in Sport strategy and to promote equal opportunities for women and girls in Tennis and the leadership of the Sport. It is led by Katrina Adams, ITF Vice President and President of USTA (United States Tennis Association) and other members apart from myself are from Belarus, Iran, Paraguay and Tunisia.