The Barbados Athletes Commission appoints new Chair

The Athletes Commission of the Barbados Olympic Association Inc. elected Anicia Wood as its new Chair at the quadrennial elections held last Thursday.

The Athletes Commission is an established forum for all elite athletes who have represented Barbados at international multi-sport competitions such as the Olympics, Commonwealth Games, Pan American Games and the Central American and Caribbean Games. The Commission’s objective is to represent the interests of athletes on and off the field, engage in activities and projects for athletes and advise the BOA Board of Directors on matters affecting athletes.

Wood who represented Barbados at the Central American and Caribbean Games in both volleyball and basketball said that she was happy with the outcome of the elections and that it was a privilege to become Chair of the Commission. “Going forward I know I have a great task at hand, but I am motivated to bring our athletes to the forefront of sports in Barbados and provide opportunities to support their continuous development on and off the field of play,” Wood said.

President of the Barbados Olympic Association Inc. Sandra Osborne QC said that she was very pleased that the BOA could revive the Barbados Athletes Commission which was first launched a few years ago. “We now have a new seven-member Commission elected by the athletes themselves. The Commission will play a key role in the Olympic and Commonwealth sports movements in Barbados and will be the voice of the athlete. I am confident that we will have an enthusiastic and committed Commission and we at the BOA look forward to their input as one of our key stakeholders,” said Osborne.

The Athletes Commission will represent athletes’ interests and support the development of athletes in their sporting and non-sporting careers.

Other Commission members are Amber Joseph(Cycling), Shawn Simpson (Squash), Kyle Maxwell (Volleyball), Sheena Gooding (Athletics), Tanya Oxley (Athletics) and Martyn Forde (Swimming).